2017 Health Goals

Hello, and welcome back! I hope your holiday season was as enjoyable as mine. Between the bustle of the holidays and the New Year, I needed some time to recharge with my boys. One perk of my job as a teacher is an extended winter break (almost two weeks!) which meant lots of snuggles with Alec. As enjoyable as my time off was, I’m ready to hit the pavement and get back to business. 

January brings the start of a new year, and with it new opportunities. 2016 was an amazing year for me. I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy and celebrated a year of marriage to my handsome hubby. I became more confident in myself as a professional and as a person. It was pretty awesome. 

You know what wasn’t awesome about 2016? My eating. 

I had a hard time gaining weight while pregnant and was encouraged to eat whatever high fat snacks I wanted. This equated to mounds of spaghettios and instant mashed potatoes  (gross, I know). After having my son, I dealt with weeks of horrible post-partum nausea and could stomach only carbs. Now I struggle to find time to balance meals with work, taking care of the baby, and taking care of my house. I eat a lot of meals on the go (read: Tim Hortons and McDonalds) while running errands on my break.

My diet is out of whack and my body is suffering the consequences. My IBS is worse than it has been since college, I have regular acne flare ups, and my hormones are out of control (just ask my husband). I have little energy, although that could also be because I have an 8-month-old. I. Feel. Crappy. It’s time for a  change. 

I’ve set a few health goals to help me get back on track in 2017. I won’t use the word resolution; it makes me think of people slaving toward perfection, then giving up the first time they make a mistake. I’ll be giving myself a good bit of time and grace as I work toward getting my health back on track. It took months to create these bad habits, it’s going to take a while to break them. I won’t hold myself to perfection. I will hold myself to progress. 

Without further ado, here are my goals for 2017:

  • Drink more water. I’ve gotten into the horrible habit of drinking coffee all day long. I’m dehydrated 24/7, and stink like the inside of a coffee pot.
  • Minimize consumption of dairy and GMO products. This one is important not just for my health, but also for my son’s. Alec suffers from a milk protein allergy and has already shown sensitivity to processed foods. I want to set a good example for him as he transitions away from the bottle and starts eating more solid foods. 
  • Eat more organic. This goes hand-in-hand with the above goal of cutting out GMO and processed foods.
  • Transition to greener/more natural cleaning and personal care products. I’ve gotten a head start on this one with some awesome Thieves cleaning solution that a friend made for me. If you aren’t using essential oils at home you should be! I’ve also picked up some Seventh Generation dish soap and reusable microfober cleaning cloths, and stopped using bleach-based cleaners on all but the biggest messes.

That’s it. My health goals for 2017. Challenging but achievable as we educators would say. I didn’t include an exercise goal as it’s hard to find time at this point in my life, but I’m hoping that will fall into place. In the meantime, wrangling a baby is exercise enough!

Do you have any goals, health or otherwise, you are working toward this year? Share them below so we can get a conversation going!

Xo Kate

Leave a Reply

