Celebrating Family

I’m not one for having my picture taken. I much prefer being behind the lens, and the few times I have had my photo snapped, it was with the assistance of my trusty tripod. When my husband and I got engaged, I created our save-the-dates myself. We waited until the Golden Hour,  popped outside, and spent a few minutes posing. A few tweaks in Photoshop later, we had postcard perfect portraits. 

Since my son’s birth I have captured many amazing moments on film. Monthly photo updates, his first smiles, all of his silly faces and expressions. Bath time, my husband’s first Father’s Day… it is all tucked neatly into A’s baby book. What you won’t find are pictures with me. 

My mom pointed out this gap a couple of weeks after A was born. After printing the pictures she had taken at the hospital, and some from our first days home, she realized that I was only present in one. One measly photo, and my bra strap was hanging out to boot. 

Shortly after, my parents took a family photo of Jake, A, and I. A was two weeks old. Until recently, those were the only other photos I was present in, and the only photos of us as a family. 

Not wanting to lose the opportunity to capture these precious days on film,  I convinced Jake that we needed to have professional portraits taken as a family. My tripod is great when it is just the two of us, but convincing a baby to pose for any length of time is downright impossible. 

I’m so glad we made this decision.

Mandy, from American Honey Photography, captured some truly beautiful shots of our little family. If you are in the WNY area, I highly recommend you check her out. Now, when I look in A’s baby book, I see us as we truly are: a family.

I hope you have enjoyed this little peek into our life.

Xo Kate

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Family

Leave a Reply

