Easy Crock Pot Applesauce

My grandma makes the best homemade applesauce. Warm and sweet, boy is it good, especially served on top of potato pancakes. I could eat myself sick and still want more.

Until this year I had never experimented with making my own applesauce. Why complicate things when I could purchase a jar of Mott’s for just a few dollars? The taste doesn’t compare, however. I was looking for a fun fall activity to complete with my students when it hit me… applesauce! 

I hunted for an easy recipe (I was making it with fourth and fifth graders after all) when I came across one that cooks in the crock pot. Toss your ingredients in, set the temperature, and come back in a few hours. No fuss, it’s that simple. Did I mention it’s also delicious? Not only did my picky students gobble it up, my picky husband gobbled the leftovers and wanted more. I’d say that’s one for the recipe book. 

Ingredients:

  • 12-15 large apples; peeled, cored, and sliced thin (I used Macintosh but any variety will work)
  • 1/2 generous cup white sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon 
  • 1 cup water

    Layer apples, sugar, and cinnamon in crock pot. Pour water over top. Cook on high for 3-4 hours, or low for 6-8 hours. The apples break down pretty well on their own, a few stirs with a spoon is all that is needed to get the perfect consistency. 

    I hope you enjoy this easy recipe. Let me know if you give it a try!

    5 thoughts on “Easy Crock Pot Applesauce

    Leave a Reply

    