A Visit to the Pumpkin Patch

 

Fall is my favorite season.  I love the crisp smell of autumn air, cozy sweaters, and, of course, chai lattes.  Each year I begin counting down the days (usually in July) until I can trade in my sunglasses and sandals for scarves and boots.  This year fall seems even more exciting because I get to experience everything with A for the very first time.

One of my favorite fall activities is picking out pumpkins to decorate the front porch.  I love how the pop of orange dresses up our entryway, welcoming visitors with a cheerful “hello.”  Although I usually pick pumpkins up from the local farmer’s market, I thought this year it would be fun to take A to the pumpkin patch.  My good friend Hannah was in town, and we were lucky enough to have her along for the ride.

Pumpkinville, located just outside the town of Ellicottville,  has been a WNY fall destination for 50 years.  It has a petting zoo and rides for the kids, delicious homemade donuts and cider, a gift shop, and gobs of pumpkins and gourds.  If you’re looking for “fall” in one location, this is it.pumpkinville-4-of-4

Although A is too young for most of the activities, he was content to people watch from the safety of my baby carrier.  He was enthralled with the crowd and animals in the petting zoo, and loved looking at the rows of pumpkins.  His favorite sight was the dried corn stalks, which he enjoyed touching and crinkling in his tiny fists.  We came home with a bag of small gourds, which are now decorating the table in my dining room.  pumpkinville-1-of-4

I can’t wait to see what fun the rest of the season brings.  I’m looking forward to carving pumpkins as a family (Daddy will be carving A’s), and impatient to see A all dressed up in his Halloween costume.  He won’t remember his first fall, but I know I’ll never forget it.

What is your favorite part of the fall season?  Leave a comment below so we can chat.

5 thoughts on “A Visit to the Pumpkin Patch

  1. beardsloveanddarlings says:

    This is also my first fall with my little one! He is so curious about the world, it makes every outing an adventure. 🙂 i love fall and everything it brings but I am most looking forward to taking him to see the Christmas lights in winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

